Find Us at

  • 6th floor Post Office Building,

The Department of Environment formarly known as the National Environment Secretatiat (NES) was established in April1994 and is currently under the ministry of Tourism, Environment and Culture. The Department of Environment is a lead agency for environmental management and promotes socio-economic and environmental sustainable development.


The mandate of the Department of Environment is aligned with section 36 of the Constitution (1993), which states that: “Lesotho shall adopt policies designed to protect and enhance the natural and cultural environment of Lesotho for the benefit of both present and future generations and shall endeavour to assure all citizens a sound and safe environment adequate for their health and well-being.”


Our Divisions

In order to fulfil its mandate, the Department of Environment has been divided in to the following devisions:

Our Devisions

Information & Data Management

More about Division

Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)

More about Division

Environmental Planning

More about Division

Nature and Biodiversity

More about Division

Pollution Control

More about Division

Programmes and International Liaisons

More about Division

Education and Outreach

More about Division

Our Corporate

Network AND NGOs
escort mersin - Außenwerbung -